Skip to content

Quick Tip: Chalkboard Lids

Greetings Amperfans! I wanted to take a second to share with you something I came up with a couple years ago. I was staring at these guys the other day and thought, “I think people would love this DIY idea” and I hope you do! I like to shop in the different ethnic markets and the bulk section but it left me with tons of plastic bags so I started collecting the glass jars my food came in, especially larger glass Goya jars and glass peanut butter jars. This led to me staring at all the different glass jars I’d recycled and thinking three things, those are really only half pretty, what the hell is that, and when did I buy it.  Here’s where my stroke of genius comes in and my desire to make things prettier. This is one of the easiest solutions to the “what the…” problem. Grab a piece of cardboard that’s big enough to accommodate all your lids, spray paint the lids with chalkboard paint, take care to get all the edges covered well as they can be missed, and eureka, reusable labels. Done and done.

One Comment Post a comment
  1. vagabond #

    This is a nice idea! You have inspired me 🙂 So far I use masking tapes which are easily removable and maybe little less messy than chalk dust, but your jars are cute…

    October 10, 2014

Leave a Reply

