Skip to content

So Long, Farewell, Auf Weidersehen, Goodbye…

andy crepeau ampersand vintage modernHello friends. I have been doing a lot of soul-searching the past few months, and it is with a heavy heart that I must announce that I will no longer be half of Ampersand Vintage Modern. Don’t worry! No one is sick or dying (thank goodness) and we are definitely NOT closing up shop! Instead of a dynamic duo, Clytie will be taking over as the sole proprietor.

Starting &VM has been a dream come true. A few years ago, while on summer-break from teaching I began selling vintage pieces on Craigslist. It was sporadic—a chair here and there, and maybe two or three vintage fans—but, pretty soon, I began to love it, and it became a mini-obsession and my dream job for the future. It was a year and a half ago that Clytie approached me with the idea of joining forces to push forward and finally make our dream a reality. That was when the Ampersand Vintage Modern that you know today was born. The dream was ultimately actualized when we launched our website in December of last year.

What Ampersand has become in a relatively short period of time has far exceeded my expectations. The interweb is a fascinating entity and it never ceases to amaze me with the scope of its reach. It boggles my mind that our blog has been read in Turkey, or that a lamp I fell in love with at a flea market in North Carolina could end up in someone’s living room in California. Likewise, it seems like I blinked and there were almost 600 people following us on Facebook! We have customers and fans from all over the globe and that is a beautiful and incredible thing.

I think that these connections are what I will miss the most. Don’t get me wrong, shopping for vintage modern furniture is a pretty sweet job, but I loved interacting with you all—both online and in person. I mean, what’s the point in writing an article that no one reads or buying a chair that no one wants? The positive feedback and encouragement that you’ve given us from the very beginning has been tremendous and makes those late nights and early mornings all worthwhile.

My love for vintage modern furniture and design endures. I am walking away with an immense sense of gratitude that I was able to be part of turning those passions into something as awesome as Ampersand Vintage Modern. Of course, it never could’ve or would’ve happened without Clytie. I will forever be grateful to her for lighting the fire under my butt (initially and repeatedly).

I must also take this opportunity to thank my other friends and family members for their continual support. Special shout-outs go to Jess Robash for her mad skills and constant inspiration, and my amazing husband, Andrew, for his encouragement, ideas, understanding, and muscles.

While Clytie will be taking the reins, I’ll be around from time to time to offer my two cents and the occasional blog post. You couldn’t get rid of me that easily! I am an eternal Amperfan and am excited to see what happens next. It’s been an incredible experience and a wonderful journey—one that I am truly going to miss. Thanks so much and keep in touch.

4 Comments Post a comment
  1. Ann bausman #

    Best of luck Andy! It was a pleasure working with you and we hope to continue a relationship with Clytie!

    November 14, 2012
    • Thanks, Ann! It was great working with you too!

      November 14, 2012
  2. Jennifer Taggart #

    All’s well that ends well. Do what makes you happy. A class act exit and post! Best to you in all of your future endeavors.

    November 14, 2012
    • That’s so sweet, Jennifer. Thank you very much!!

      November 14, 2012

Leave a Reply

