Skip to content

Craft Beer Salute of the Week

Picture of Evelyn "Ayne" Sadler eating a watermelon in VirginiaI’d like to start by apologizing to all Connecticutites for the next few declarations I’m about to make. Things I typically say about Connecticut, “it’s always in the way of getting to NY”, “I hate it”, “I was born there”, and “there’s nothing redeeming about it”. Then I want to say that I’m coming out of my fog and apparent disillusionment about the state that’s “in the way”. My driving universe has shifted from the combat zone of I95 to the beautiful Jurassic Park feel of the Saw Mill Parkway. Connecticut, the nutmeg and constitution state allows same sex marriage (yay rights), Mark Twain lived in the state’s capital, Hartford, and turns out they have some good Craft Brewers!

This week I’m dedicating my Craft Beer Salute of the Week to my Great Aunt Ayne who passed away Saturday at 93. She never drank beer but loves watermelon and is pictured here as a child eating a quarter of one down in Virginia.  She was amazingly independent, giving, and an incredible Scrabble player. I feel like Connecticut’s Thomas Hooker Brewing Company may have made the one beer she would have tried to drink. I like to imagine her with her chair pulled up to a picnic table covered in newspapers for the bushel of crabs we’d all sit down to eat together.

I’m not a big fan of flavored beers. In fact, the only flavored beer you can usually get me to drink is Shipyard’s Pumpkin. Let’s start off saying that this beer has the uniquely strong aroma of watermelon jolly ranchers, but don’t expect this brew to taste like them–you get a lot of crisp tasting malts. Hooker’s Watermelon Ale is compositionally modeled after an American Blonde Ale, making it by far the most refreshing beer we’ve had this summer. The watermelon mingles with a tangy citrus taste (fresh lime maybe?) that provides a silky smooth finish. At 5% alcohol, this is the perfect step up from whatever your lawnmower beer of choice is. We’ve had a great summer here at Ampersand and hope you spend the rest of these warm days in the company of good people and good beer. Cheers!

3 Comments Post a comment
  1. My boyfriend is from Connecticut and he hates it too! Haha.

    September 1, 2012
  2. I love the Saw Mill – except for the periodic, unexplained traffic backups. It seems like it always slows down for five miles before picking up again – but that being said, it is a beautiful drive.

    September 18, 2012
    • Seriously! It’s otherworldly when you think about what lies just south!

      September 19, 2012

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 711 other followers

