Skip to content

TGIF Craft Beer Salute of the Week

Tröegs Brewery DreamweaverI remember when Hershey, Pennsylvania, was famous for one thing and one thing only: chocolate. Six months ago, I was introduced to a lovely microbrewery hailing from the same place where the ubiquitous milk chocolate bars call home.  Founded during the peak of grunge, the guys at Tröegs Brewery opened their doors in 1996 and served their first keg of beer to a local Harrisburg restaurant a year later.  I was a bit dumbfounded when I took my first sip of Tröegs. What was this delicious Hopback Amber Ale and why had I never heard of it? Well, the reason for that was simple. As it turns out Tröegs is in extremely limited circulation at present moment. Outside of Pennsylvania, only folks in 8 states—New Jersey, Delaware, Maryland, Virginia, New York, Ohio, DC, and Massachusetts can get their hands on it.  I grew to love their Hopback Ale, but as I gave thought about what beer to feature on the TGIF Craft Beer salute this week, I felt biased in reviewing a beer I already know I love. I was invited to a backyard BBQ last weekend and picked up a 12-pack sampler of their beers—aptly named the Tröegs Anthology. The Anthology includes the Hopback, Pale Ale, Sunshine Pils, and Dreamweaver Wheat. Since I am a big fan of wheat beers in general, I cracked open a Dreamweaver and fell madly, deeply in love.

I normally try to stick with the big hitters when it comes to my wheat beers since I’ve been let down too many times by many a microbrewery’s spin on a wheat beer. That said, my standbys are Harpoon’s UFO, Allagash, Weihenstephaner, and of course, Hoegarden. Disappointment was not the case for Tröegs’ lovely Dreamweaver. It is one of the smoothest wheat beers I’ve had in a long time and is heavily reminiscent of Hoegarden’s crisp, smooth drinkability. Aside from its extremely easy drinkability, this beer looks beautiful in a glass. It pours out a nice golden hazy color with a fluffy white head that leaves ample lacing on the glass.

As with most top-fermented beers, the best way to pour this beer is to invert the bottle directly into the glass. While you circle the bottle around, you dispense the liquid into the glass in a slow fashion.  I like to the save the last ounce of beer in the bottom of the bottle and roll the bottle between both hands before dispensing it on top of the head that’s formed in the glass. This will allow the sediment to mix and be released into the beer to allow for maximum flavor.  In case you’d like to see the proper wheat beer pour in action, here’s a nifty little video that shows you how to do a proper pour.

Until next time, happy beer-ing.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

