Skip to content

Coffee Sack Project: Thonet Chair Re-do

We found these two vintage Thonet chairs at an antique market in Raleigh this summer. The beautiful, curved arms and caned seat-back were in great shape. However, we knew the upholstery would have to be refreshed. Fleur-de-lis and Scottie dogs are cute, but…we could do better.

The other day, I pulled out the chairs and the fabric I bought to re-cover the seats. As I was getting started, something was bugging me about the neutral fabric I chose. It was too–for lack of a better word–boring. As you can see, the chairs are already pretty clean and simple in design. Recently, I stumbled on a blog where someone re-furbished an iconic Eames-style lounge chair in a pale green vinyl. Awesome! It inspired me to do something a little different with this upholstery project—something unexpected for such a classic chair.

A few months back, I picked up a few burlap coffee sacks at a fabric store. I love the texture of the burlap combined with the graphic element of the stenciled typography. I’d been waiting for the right project to come along, and this was definitely it.

I wasn’t sure if it would work, but I was hoping that the rustic nature of the coffee sack would provide just the right contrast to the smooth lines of the chair–making the chairs more interesting and unique. I think that the finished result speaks for itself!

Look for them in the Ampersand Vintage Modern web-shop when we open!!

For instructions on how to re-cover the seats to your own chairs, click here.

9 Comments Post a comment
  1. summerlilacs #

    What a great idea! Love the shape and style of the chairs.

    October 12, 2011
    • Thank you so much! It was a fun project!!

      October 12, 2011
  2. Elaine Delaney #

    LOVE. (heart)

    October 12, 2011
  3. Love those letters! They look fabulous.

    October 12, 2011
    • I was hoping you’d like…thanks!!

      October 12, 2011
  4. Oh – that’s me! (Red Jet Whistle) Awesome job on the thonets – I see them at thrift stores and want to bring them ALL home, but I’ve got too many as it is……..

    Amanda

    ~ always happy to read another Boston blog!

    October 20, 2011
    • Hey Amanda,

      Looooooooove your blog and will be stealing some of your ideas/projects in due course. Thanks for the comment!

      –Andy

      October 20, 2011

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Handy Dandy Upholstery Chart | ampersand vintage modern

Leave a Reply

